The Prayer of St. Ephraim

O Lord and Master of my life, remove from me the spirit of laziness despondency, thirst for power and vain talk.  (Prostration)

Instead, grant me, your servant, the spirit of purity, humility, patience and love.(Prostration)

Indeed, O Lord and King grant that I may see my own sins and not judge my brother, for you are blessed unto ages of ages.  Amen.  (Prostration)

Lord, have mercy on me a sinner.  (bow)  Lord, cleanse me, a sinner.  (bow)  You who have created me, save me.  (bow)

These last four petitions are done three times, making a total of twelve bows.  The the first part of the prayer is repeated.

O Lord and Master of my life, remove from me the spirit of laziness, despondency, thirst for power and vain talk.  Instead, grant me, your servant the spirit of purity, humility, patience and love.  Indeed, O Lord and King, grant that I may see my own sins and not judge my brother, for you are blessed unto ages of ages.  Amen.  (prostration)

The Prayer of St. Ephraim is used throughout Lent and is one of my favorite prayers and supplications.  It can, of course, be said at any time.

Leave a Reply

